AAP Releases List Of Main Campaigners For Upcoming Haryana Polls

General News

AAP released a list of 20 star campaigners for the Haryana assembly elections, rebuffing rumours that senior members would not take part in the campaign

Written By Devarshi mankad | Mumbai | Updated On:

The Aam Admi Party, on Friday evening, submitted the list of star campaigners for the upcoming Haryana assembly elections. The list had the names of 20 members of the party who will be campaigning for the elections.

The list had the names of all senior members, including Arvind Kejriwal, Manish Sisodia, Sanjay Singh, Gopal Rai, Priya Sharma, etc. The release of the list means that the earlier reports of Kejriwal, along with other senior leaders not campaigning for the polls have been proven wrong. 

READ | BJP's Babita Phogat pledges to contest Haryana election on the issues

INC's campaigners 

The Indian National Congress also released a list of 40-star campaigners on Friday which included the names of all senior leaders, including the names of the party's top central leadership -  former prime minister Manmohan Singh, interim Congress president Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, as well as Punjab Chief Minister Amarinder Singh. Chief Ministers from other Congress-ruled states like Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, and Rajasthan will also look to woo the voters to win the state back from the BJP, which swept the polls in 2014. Local leader Ashok Tanwar has been included in the list of campaigners although he publicly objected against Sonia Gandhi after he was denied a ticket, including protesting outside her residence with various supporters. Navjot Singh Sidhu was the notable absentee from the list. The party has been facing serious and embarrassing issues of infighting, which has been going on for a long time. 

READ | Haryana polls: Congress's Kumari Selja rebuffs 'cash for ticket' claim

BJP's campaigners

The Bhartiya Janta Party's list includes names of 40 members Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who has been the biggest attraction and pulling factor for the past six years. Amit Shah, J.P. Nadda, Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari, Narendra Singh Tomar, Bhupendra Singh, Yogi Adityanath, among others. The list also includes film stars-turned politicians Hema Malini, Manoj Tewari, Ravi Kishan, and Sunny Deol.

In the recently concluded Lok Sabha elections, the BJP won all 10 seats, ensuring a clean swipe and ensuring a humiliating defeat for the INC and all regional parties.

The Election Commission announced that the Haryana and Maharashtra will be going to polls on October 21, with the results to be declared on October 24. The last date for filing nomination was Friday, October 4. Reports 

READ | Yogeshwar Dutt files nomination from Baroda ahead of Haryana elections

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water