Haryana: Two Former Congress MLAs And One From INLD Join BJP

General News

Two former MLAs from Congress and one MLA from the INLD have joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday in the presence of Manohar Lal Khattar

Written By Manjiri Chitre | Mumbai | Updated On:

Two former MLAs from Congress — Ramswarup Rama and Phool Singh Kheri and one MLA from the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) — Vedpal Narang joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Sunday in the presence of Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar. Along with them, many other workers joined the party as well. According to reports, the CM urged the leaders to immediately join the BJP campaign for the upcoming elections. Former Congress leader Rama had served as a Cabinet Minister in former Chief Minister Bansilal's government, while Narang had won Barwala seat in 2014 from the INLD ticket.

Attack on Congress

Chief Minister and BJP leader Manohar Lal Khattar attacked the Congress party on Sunday and stated, "It is not new in Congress cadres that wherever four people come together they cannot stay together." He further said that there is dynasty politics and a family rule in the party and due to which Congress is losing its members. Speaking about the former Haryana Congress chief Ashok Tanwar, Khattar said that there has been no contact with Tanwar, but these things keep happening in Congress. 

Read | Maharashtra Floods: Genelia-Riteish Deshmukh make big contribution to CM's fund, say 'Together we can achieve a lot'

Haryana Assembly elections

According to the Election Commission (EC), the Haryana Assembly elections will be held on October 21, and the counting of the polls will take place on October 24. Further, the elections will be concluded on October 27, as stated by the Chief Election Commission (CEC), Sunil Arora. According to the EC, Haryana's assembly term expires on November 2. The Maharashtra Assembly elections will be held simultaneously.  

Read: Maharashtra: Sureshot nominees, notable exceptions in BJP's first list

Detailed scheduled 

Gazette Notification to be issued: September 27

Last date of nominations: October 4

The date for Scrutiny of Nomination - October 5

Last Date for Withdrawal of Candidatures - October 7

Polling on all 90 seats: October 21

Results of the elections: October 24

Read | Haryana BJP leaders denied ticket; CM says 'maan-samman' will be kept

Read | Haryana polls: Ashok Tanwar quits Congress, exposes internal 'lobbies'

(With ANI inputs)

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water