PM Modi Extends Navratri Wishes To Everyone On The 8th Day Of Festival

General News

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, among other leaders, on Sunday, took to micro-blogging site Twitter to wish the world on the eighth day of the Navratri festival.

Written By Ria Kapoor | Mumbai | Updated On:
PM Modi

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, on Sunday, took to Twitter to wish the world on the eighth day of the Navratri festival. In his tweet, he said that he wished that Maa Mahagauri blessed everyone with peace, good fortune and wealth. Union Textiles Minister Smriti Irani also retweeted PM Modi's Navratri wishes.

President Ram Nath Kovind also extended his greetings on the occasion of Durga Ashtami. He said that this is the festival of the victory of good over evil. He also wished that Goddess Durga showered her blessings to enrich people's lives with joy and prosperity.  


READ | PM Modi extends Navratri wishes to citizens of India

Union Ministers wish netizens on Navratri

Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman also took to Twitter to express her humble gratitude to the Goddess during the festival. She saluted the 'Devi' who brings sense to the world and pervades all beings.


READ | Surat locals celebrate Navratri doing Garba in Modi mask; Watch

Union Home Minister Amit Shah also shared his Navratri wishes on Twitter.

What is Navratri?

Navratri, which means ‘Nine-nights’ in Sanskrit, is a nine-day festival that is famous in various parts of India and is celebrated by Hindus all over the country. It is celebrated with great energy and enthusiasm and is a colourful festival in which nine forms of Goddess Durga are worshipped.

READ | Navratri cheer at Ahmedabad Airport, watch passengers playing Garba

There are four types of Navratri that take place in a year. However, out of these four Navratris in a year, only two-namely Chaitra Navratri and Sharad Navratri are celebrated widely. 

People in different parts of the country celebrate this festival differently. The festival, apart from its energetic celebrations, is also famous for the fasts that people observe. Special prayers are also offered to the ‘Nine Forms of Maa Durga,’ who is believed to have taken the avatar of Devi Durga to destroy Mahishasura. Additionally, in some parts of India, the nine forms of Maa Durga are worshipped with nine different forms of prasad or bhog. 

READ | Menus get a Navratri revamp to cater to those on fast

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water