Shiv Sena's Sanjay Raut​​​​​​​ Calls Karnataka Political Turmoil 'real Drama,' Says 'was Bound To Happen'

General News

Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut​​​​​​​ on Saturday called the political turmoil in neighbouring Karnataka as "real drama" and said the "collapse" of the non-BJP government there was "bound to happen".

Written By Digital Desk | Mumbai | Updated On:

Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut on Saturday called the political turmoil in neighbouring Karnataka as "real drama" and said the "collapse" of the non-BJP government there was "bound to happen".

The JD(S)-Congress government in Karnataka plunged into a crisis on Saturday, with 13 MLAs of the alliance submitting their resignation to the Speaker.

Nine MLAs of the Congress and three of the JD(S) reached Speaker Ramesh Kumar's office to put in their papers on Saturday, and later met Governor Vajubhai Vala at the Raj Bhavan.

READ| Karnataka Crisis: 10 Congress-JD(S) MLAs Arrive In Mumbai After Tendering Resignations To State Assembly Speaker

One Congress MLA had resigned earlier this week. In a tweet in Hindi, Rajya Sabha MP Raut said, "The real drama begins in Karnataka. Non-BJP government is collapsing. This was bound to happen."

While rebel JD(S) MLA A H Vishwanath told reporters in Bengaluru "14 MLAs from Congress and JD(S) have resigned", Karnataka Assembly secretariat sources said 13 legislators had put in their papers.

The JD(S)-Congress coalition's total strength, including those who have put in their papers, is 118 (Congress-78, JD(S)-37, BSP-1 and Independents-2), besides the Speaker. The BJP has 105 MLAs in the 224-member House.

Here are key events of Saturday's Karnataka Crisis :

  • 8 MLAs handed over their resignations to state Assembly Speaker K. R. Ramesh Kumar. H Vishwanath, Mahesh Kumathalli, BC Patil, Ramesh Jarkiholi, Shivaram Hebbar, Narayan Gowda, Pratap Gowda, and Ramalinga Reddy triggered the first wave of resignations.
  • Close on heels three more Congress MLAs-  Byrathi Basavaraj, ST Somashekar, and Munirathna submitted their resignations too. Apart from these MLAs, Soumya Reddy and Gopalaiah had reportedly handed over their resignations, bringing the total number of resignations to 13.
  • Former Karnataka Home Minister and seven-time Congress MLA confirmed that he had resigned from his post, triggering Congress Committee General Secretary KC Venugopal to be rushed to Bengaluru, to control the damage. 
  • In an exclusive scoop, the Leader of Opposition Yeddyurappa's aide of BJP leader was photographed standing outside the hotel where the rebelling JD(S) leaders were staying.
  • Resigned MLAs then moved to the Governor's House while Deputy Chief Minister G Parameshwara and State minister DK Shivakumar called an emergency meeting of Congress Bengaluru MLAs and Corporators later in the day.
  • The Speaker who had left his chambers citing health reasons issued a statement confirming that 11 resignations were received, but he would be able to address the issue only on Tuesday as he had a prior appointment on Monday.
  • Meanwhile, in the Speakers chambers, DK Shivakumar had reportedly torn down the resignation letter of four ministers while attempting to hold talks with senior leaders including Ramalinga Reddy, Basavaraj Rayareddy, Munirathna, and S T Somashekhar in order to control the situation.
  • Both parties' leaders along with then retreated to their respective chambers to talk to their rebelling MLAs.
  • Reacting to the entire political situation, JD(S) chief Deve Gowda has said that the party will wait till Monday for the state assembly Speaker to come back and then take a decision. He also claimed that the 11 leaders who have resigned are well-wishers and loyalists of the government.
  • CLP chief Siddaramaiah reaches his Bengaluru residence 'Cauvery' and swings into damage control meeting the resigning Congress leaders.
  • Four of the 11 resigned MLAs have demanded that Congress Legislative Party (CLP) chief Siddaramaiah be made Chief Minister, replacing CM H D Kumaraswamy, who is currently in the US, as per sources. Sources have further reported that S.T. Somashekar, Byrathi Basavaraj, Munirathna, and another MLA have allegedly made this demand.
  • Rebel MLAs issue their first statement with former JD(S) state president H.Vishwanath saying that 14 MLAs have resigned as they have lost faith in the current government, dispelling rumours of 'Operation Lotus'.

READ| Karnataka Crisis: 10 Congress-JD(S) MLAs Flying To Mumbai 5-star After Resigning; Randeep Surjewala Targets BJP

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water