Clive Lloyd Set To Receive Knighthood, Will Be 4th West Indies Player To Be Called 'Sir'

Cricket News

West Indies World Cup-winning skipper Clive Lloyd is set to receive a Knighthood on New Year's day for his outstanding contribution in the field of cricket.

Written By Karthik Nair | Mumbai | Updated On:

Clive Lloyd who has been one of the finest and successful captains in world cricket is all set to add yet another feather in his cap. The cricketer-turned-match referee is set to receive a Knighthood on New Year's day for his outstanding contribution in the field of cricket. 

READ: Australia captain Tim Paine upset over video review system

Clive Lloyd to receive Knighthood

The Windies Cricket had congratulated their legendary cricketer and captain on receiving a knighthood. Taking to the micro-blogging site, the West Indies Cricket wrote 'ARISE SIR CLIVE' and then congratulated the two-time World Cup-winning skipper who is set to receive a Knighthood in the New Year for his outstanding service to Cricket.

Apart from Clive Lloyd, four of the star-studded players of the English team who were a part of England's maiden World Cup triumph are also set to receive the honors. They include the likes of skipper Eoin Morgan, Joe Root, Jos Buttler, and Ben Stokes.

Meanwhile,  Lloyd will also become the fourth West Indian player after the likes of Sir Vivian Richards, Gary Sobers and Everton Weekes to achieve the honour.

READ: Wagner becomes 2nd fastest Kiwi bowler to pick 200 Test scalps as Australia extend lead

Clive Lloyd's illustrious cricketing career

Clive Lloyd has been the most successful captain to lead the West Indies in his illustrious cricketing career which lasted for nearly two decades i.e. from 1966 to 1985. He captained the Caribbeans from 1975 to 1985 and had led them to three consecutive World Cup finals between 1975 to 1985.

Under his captaincy, West Indies had won the first two editions of the World Cup in 1975 and 1979 respectively. They were all set to win the title after making it to the summit clash in 1983 but had to be happy with a second-place finish after they were stunned by 'Kapil's Devils' who went on to beat them by 40 runs. Ever since that loss on June 25, 1983, West Indies are yet to feature in an ODI World Cup final. 

READ: Aus vs NZ: Pat Cummins barely misses world record by taking 70 consecutive non-lbw wickets

WATCH: Atul Wassan: 'It is very upsetting, I admire Shoaib for coming out and saying this'

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water