IPL 2020: RCB Can’t Always Rely On Virat Kohli And AB De Villiers To Win IPL: Moeen Ali

Cricket News

IPL 2020: Moeen Ali said that they cannot always keep relying on Kohli and de Villiers to win them matches. Other batters including him needed to step up.

Written By Jatin Malu | Mumbai | Updated On:
IPL 2020

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) is one of the most exciting teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL) which has always had talent in abundance and match-winners galore but have never managed to live up to the expectations

ALSO READ | IPL Auction 2020: Two Former IPL Winners To Be Part Of Bangladesh Premier League Draft

RCB has Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Yuzvendra Chahal in their ranks but the results have just not come their way and RCB has not won even a single title in 12 seasons. In fact, the best RCB has performed in the IPL across 12 seasons is the runners-up finish in 2016. In the last edition also, the Bangalore-based franchise came up with a miserable performance and finished at the bottom.

Cannot always rely on Kohli and De Villiers: Moeen Ali

Moeen Ali who was retained by RCB ahead of the auction has said that the RCB needs to have a good start in IPL 2020 if they want to make it to the playoffs and the win the trophy. He also said that that the team cannot always expect Kohli and De Villiers to win games for them and other players need to step up as well.

ALSO READ | Ind Vs Ban: India Cruise To An Innings & 130 Runs Victory, Lead The 2-match Series 1-0

Ali while speaking to IANS said that they needed a good start to the tournament as they have always started slowly. He added that they needed to be brave, especially at home because the wicket in Bengaluru was great to bat. The England all-rounder went on to say that the boundaries were small over there and it was very daunting for the bowlers.

The Englishman said that they cannot always keep relying on Kohli and de Villiers to win them matches. He added that other batsmen including him and whomsoever were coming in had to step up and bat well.

RCB released 12 players including Dale Steyn who had replaced Nathan Coulter-Nile in the last edition. IPL auctions 2020 will take place on December 19 in Kolkata.

ALSO READ | Aus Vs Pak: Steve Smith's Astounding Gabba Record That Will Worry Pakistan

RCB Squad

Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Moeen Ali, Yuzvendra Chahal, Parthiv Patel, Gurkeerat Mann, Devdutt Padikkal, Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Navdeep Saini, Mohammed Siraj, Pawan Negi, Umesh Yadav,

Players released

Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetymer, Akshdeep Nath, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Colin de Grandhomme, Prayas Barman, Tim Southee, Kulwant Khejroliya, Himmat Singh, Heinrich Klaasen, Milind Kumar and Dale Steyn.

ALSO READ | IPL 2020: Steve Smith Named Rajasthan Royals Captain In This Quirky Instagram Video

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water