IPL 2020: Shreyas Iyer To Continue Leading Delhi Capitals For Upcoming Season

Cricket News

IPL 2020: Shreyas Iyer took over the reins of captaincy from Gautam Gambhir at the half-way stage of the 2018 season and has led the Delhi outfit in 24 games.

Written By Suraj Alva | Mumbai | Updated On:
IPL 2020

Team India middle order batsman Shreyas Iyer will continue to captain Delhi Capitals (DC) in the Indian Premier League 2020. The franchise posted a video on Twitter in which Iyer can be heard saying that he will lead the team in IPL 2020. He also looked happy about the new recruits that DC has acquired in the IPL trade window i.e. Ashwin and Rahane. He also showed his excitement for the upcoming auction that is going to be held on the 19th of December.

Also Read: IPL Auction 2020: 3 Teams Likely To Bid The Highest For KKR Keeper-batsman Robin Uthappa

IPL 2020: Shreyas Iyer's reign as skipper

Shreyas Iyer took over the captaincy of DC from Gautam Gambhir at the half-way stage of 2018 season and since then, he has led the Delhi outfit in 24 games. He has ended up on the winning side on 14 occasions. He took DC to the knockout stage where they eventually lost to MS Dhoni's Chennai Super Kings in the Qualifier 2 clash.

Also Read: Jofra Archer Asked To Choose Between Ranu Mondal And Dhinchak Pooja On Twitter

IPL 2020: Delhi Capitals' new recruits 

Delhi Capitals, this season, have already roped in Ravichandran Ashwin and Ajinkya Rahane in the IPL transfer window. Both the players come into the side after previously leading Rajasthan Royals (RR) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP) respectively. Apart from the experienced duo, DC released Trent Boult to Mumbai Indians and traded the spinning duo of Rahul Tewatia and Mayank Markande to Rajasthan Royals. 

The Delhi based franchise had roped in Boult after paying a hefty amount of Rs 2.2 crores in the IPL auction 2018 but he was later traded at an amount of Rs 3.2 Cr. DC have been left with an amount of Rs 27.85 Cr in their purse for the auction.


Also Read: Hardik Pandya Takes To Instagram To Launch New Line Of Jackets 'Kung Fu Pandya'

Rahane left Royals as their all-time highest run-scorer with 3098 runs. RR also qualified for playoffs under Rahane's captaincy in 2018. Ashwin had a good start for KXIP in both the seasons as his side clinched some early wins. However, the team slipped in the latter part of the tournament on both the occasions.

IPL 2020: Yuvraj Singh Will Not Feature Next Season; Here's Why


By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water