Last Updated:

Mumbai Indians Becomes Most Followed IPL Team On Instagram With 4 Million Followers

Mumbai Indians became the first team to reach 4 million followers on Instagram and are closely followed by arch-rivals CSK, who have 3.8 million followers.

Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians are arguably the most popular franchise cricket team across the globe. The Rohit Sharma-led franchise had won the Indian Premier League (IPL) title in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and are undoubtedly the favourites going into the IPL 2020. On Tuesday, they became the first team to reach 4 million followers on Instagram, which is a testament to their popularity. They are closely followed by arch-rivals Chennai Super Kings, who have 3.8 million followers on Instagram.

ALSO READ | Robin Uthappa makes place for his IPL 2020 captain Steve Smith in ODI team of 2010s

Mumbai Indians become the first IPL team to reach 4 million followers on Instagram

Mumbai Indians has been the IPL home to legendary players like Sachin Tendulkar, Harbhajan Singh, Ricky Ponting, Lasith Malinga, Andrew Symonds and Yuvraj Singh in the past. They have also nurtured several young talents like Jasprit Bumrah, Hardik Pandya, and Krunal Pandya, who made it to the Indian team courtesy their performances for Mumbai Indians. The 4-time champions are renowned to have a fine balance of youth and experience in their side every season.

ALSO READ | IPL 2020: RCB's Chris Morris reveals fairytale return from inconsistency to ₹10 cr jackpot

Mumbai Indians go big at the IPL 2020 Auction

Reigning champions Mumbai Indians made some quite unexpected purchases at the IPL 2020 Auction when they acquired the likes of Chris Lynn and Nathan Coulter-Nile. Mumbai were not expected to spend this big at the auction since the defending champions already had a pretty strong core going into the IPL 2020.  After the big acquisitions of Chris Lynn and Nathan Coulter-Nile, four-time champions Mumbai Indians look as complete as they have ever been. With more explosive batsmen and fast bowlers, Mumbai can hope to win more games at the Wankhede. 

ALSO READ | After barnstorming year Rohit Sharma now 'thinking different'; here's who he credits

Mumbai Indians Squad

  • Batsmen: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Sherfane Rutherford, Suryakumar Yadav, Anmolpreet Singh, Chris Lynn (Rs 2 crore), Saurabh Tiwary (Rs 50 lakh).
  • Bowlers: Dhawal Kulkarni, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga, Mitchell McClenaghan, Rahul Chahar, Trent Boult, Mohsin Khan (Rs 20 lakh), Fabian Allen (Rs 50 lakh), Prince Balwant Rai Singh (Rs 20 lakh), Digvijay Deshmukh (Rs 20 lakh).
  • All-rounders: Hardik Pandya, Jayant Yadav, Kieron Pollard, Krunal Pandya, Anukul Roy, Nathan Coulter-Nile (Rs 8 crore).
  • Wicketkeepers: Ishan Kishan, Quinton de Kock, Aditya Tare.

ALSO READ | Rohit Sharma net worth, salary and role in CricKingdom Cricket Academy

First Published:
By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water