Ravichandran Ashwin To Play In The Vijay Hazare Trophy Semi-final

Cricket News

Indian off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin set to play for Tamil Nadu in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019. Opener Mayank Agarwal will also feature for Karnataka.

Written By Sreehari Menon | Mumbai | Updated On:
Ravichandran Ashwin

Ravichandran Ashwin, India’s premier off-spinner, is all set to feature in the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019. The off-spinner who picked up 15 wickets in the 3-match test series vs South Africa, will play for his state Tamil Nadu. Ashwin shared the news on his personal Twitter account. Tamil Nadu will face Gujarat in the second semi-final in Bengaluru.

Also Read: Sachin Tendulkar Recalls India's 'epic Game' Vs Aus In Throwback Post

Ravichandran Ashwin set to play Vijay Hazare Trophy semifinal

Tamil Nadu have been unbeaten in the Elite Group C of the Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019. Baba Aparajith, Abhinav Mukund and Captain Dinesh Karthik have led the charge from the front with Tamil Nadu winning all the 9 games they’ve played this season. Ravichandran Ashwin’s addition to the squad would be an added bonus against a Gujarat side who would look to avenge the only defeat they have suffered this season. Tamil Nadu advanced to the semi-finals after their quarter-final clash with Punjab was washed out due to rain. Gujarat, on the other hand, breezed past Delhi in their quarter-final.

Also Read: Bangladesh Cricketers' Strike: BCB To Have Emergency Meeting

Mayank Agarwal to feature for Karnataka

Mayank Agarwal will also feature for Karnataka in their semi-final vs Chhattisgarh. Mayank finished the India vs South Africa series with 340 runs, including a maiden double hundred. Karnataka have been in fine form in the Vijay Hazare Trophy, notching up 7 wins in their 8 games. Manish Pandey and Devdutt Padikkal have both scored over 500 runs in the tournament, and Karnataka would have Mayank replicate his form from the Freedom series. Chhatisgarh advanced to the semi-finals after their game against Mumbai got washed out. Karnataka, meanwhile, impressively brushed past Puducherry to reach the semis.

Also Read: Ind Vs SA 3rd Test: Key Moments From Day 4 Morning Session In Ranchi

Ravichandran Ashwin recently became the joint-fastest to 350 test wickets along with Muttiah Muralitharan. He achieved the feat in his 66th test match. Ashwin (356) is India’s 4th highest wicket-taker in tests, with only Harbhajan Singh (417), Kapil Dev (434) and Anil Kumble (619) ahead of him in the list.

Also Read: Virat Kohli Asks A Reporter Whether He Would Like To Greet MS Dhoni

By 2030, 40% Indian will not have access to drinking water