Rishabh Pant Has The Last Laugh Not Once But Twice After A Blunder

Cricket News

Rishabh Pant who had committed a huge blunder in the Powerplay overs had the last laugh behind the stumps not once but twice in the 2nd T20I on Thursday.

Written By Karthik Nair | Mumbai | Updated On:
Rishabh

Things did not work out for Rishabh Pant the way would have wanted to in the ongoing T20I series against Bangladesh. The young wicket-keeper batsman had made a failed call for DRS in the 1st T20I which has infuriated the fans. Even in the 2nd T20I on Thursday, he had committed a schoolboy error for which he was brutally trolled by fans. Just when it seemed that he would have yet another forgettable day, things took an interesting turn and the young stumper had a revival in his fortunes.

READ: Aus vs Pak 3rd T20I Live score updates from the Perth Stadium

Rishabh Pant has the last laugh not once but twice

After Rishabh Pant had collected the ball in front of the stumps to dismiss Liton Das not only did the batsman get another life but a no-ball and a free hit was also signalled as Das hit two consecutive boundaries in the following deliveries. However, the youngster also made sure that he made up for it as well. In the next over of Yuzi Chahal, the wrist-spinner had bowled a full one outside off and ended up missing it completely as the ball had made contact with the bat. Pant started appealing from behind the stumps while Liton Das had no idea where the ball was as he set off for a single. A smart Pant then showed his presence of mind as quickly collected the ball and hit the bull's eye as Das ran out of luck on this occasion.

This was not the only instance where Pant got the better of the batsman behind the stumps. Another such instance happened on the final ball of the 13h over which was bowled by Chahal. Chahal had bowled a tossed up delivery outside off-stump which tempted Soumya Sarkar to come down the track. He ended up getting stumped by Pant but then, the third umpire was once again interested in knowing whether the Delhi cricketer had committed the same error which he had committed earlier as the matter was referred to the third umpire. This time, the umpire made a mistake as the decision was initially made in favour of the batsman and then changed to 'Out'. Sarkar who was coming back to the crease was asked to head back to the dugout by the fourth umpire. It was later revealed that the third umpire had pressed the wrong button.

READ: Eoin Morgan registers fastest 50 for England against NZ in fourth T20

India level the series

A disciplined bowling performance from Team India restricted Bangladesh to  153/6 in their 20 overs. In reply, skipper Rohit Sharma led from the front with a quickfire 43-ball 85 as the Men In Blue registered a comprehensive win by eight wickets with 26 balls to spare to level the three-match series 1-1. The decider will be played at the VCA Stadium in Nagpur on Sunday.

READ: Steve Smith has impeccable net session ahead of Perth T20I vs Pakistan

READ: Brett Lee turns 43: Tendulkar, Dravid among players troubled by pacer

Published:
By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water
SAVE WATER NOW
PEOPLE HAVE PLEDGED SO FAR
DO NOT MISS