Image Courtesy: AP
Image Courtesy: AP

Cricket News

West Indies Tour: Netizens Unhappy With Selectors For Picking Kedar Jadhav Despite Dismal World Cup Performance

Written By Karthik Nair | Mumbai | Published:


  • Team India's squad for the upcoming tour of West Indies has been announced.
  • Kedar Jadhav was also included in the Indian squad
  • Netizens expressed their disappointment at Jadhav's inclusion

Team India's squad for the upcoming tour of West Indies has been announced. India will be travelling to the Caribbean islands as well as the United States for two Tests, three One Day Internationals and three T20Is starting from 3rd August to 4th September 2019. The three-match Test series will be a part of the inaugural ICC World Test Championship (2019-2021).

Many new faces were featured for the upcoming tour along with the regular players and among those regular faces, Kedar Jadhav's name has also been included. Jadhav did not have a good outing in the recently concluded ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. Barring his half-century against Afghanistan, he failed to make much of an impact with the bat. He was also criticised for his slow innings during India's match against England where the hosts emerged victorious by 31 runs. Jadhav was only handed the ball on a few occasions. Nonetheless, whenever he did get an opportunity, 'The Man With Golden Arm' could not make an impression either. The all-rounder had featured in six of India's nine matches.

Thus, when Jadhav was included in the upcoming Caribbean tour, netizens expressed their disappointment on social media.

READ: World Cup 2019: Selection Committee Clarifies Stand On Ambati Rayudu, Rejects Claims Of Being 'biased' 

Here are the squads for all the three formats. 

Test squad: Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane ( VC), Hanuma Vihari, Rohit Sharma, Rishab Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Ishant Sharma, M Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Umesh Yadav  

ODI squad: Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishab Pant, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kedar Jadhav, M Shami, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Navdeep Saini 

T20I squad: Virat Kohli, Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishab Pant, Krunal Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sunder, Rahul Chahar, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini

World Cup 2019: Selectors Reveal Why Rishabh Pant Was Chosen As Shikhar Dhawan's Replacement, Watch Here