Man City Ban: Liverpool Players Who Could Get PL Medals If City Are Stripped Off 2014 Win

Football News

Man City ban: The FA have launched an inquiry on Manchester City which could strip them off their 2013/14 title win, handing Steven Gerrard the elusive title.

Written By Sreehari Menon | Mumbai | Updated On:
Man City ban

The Man City ban left the footballing community in shock when they were found guilty of breaching the Financial Fair Play (FFP) rules. UEFA subsequently banned the Premier League champions from the Champions League for two seasons and handed them a £25 million fine. The Premier League have reportedly opened an investigation after the Man City FFP breach, who are bracing for a hearing at the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS).

Also Read: Man City Could Be Stripped Off 2014 Title After Premier League Opens Investigation: Report

Man City FFP breach: UEFA hands Man City ban from Champions League for two years

Man City FFP breach: Premier League starts investigation after Man City ban

According to multiple reports in England, the FA are investigating the four-time Premier League champions and could face points deduction, which might potentially strip them of their titles. Man City won four Premier League titles in the 2010s decade, lifting the trophy at the end of the 2011/12, 2013/14, 2017/18 and the 2018/19 seasons. Manchester City won the Premier League in 2013/14, denying Liverpool captain Steven Gerrard an elusive Premier League title, by just two points. However, if Manchester City are found guilty, they might be stripped of their 2013/14 title and Steven Gerrard and his Liverpool side might have a Premier League medal.

Also Read: Jose Mourinho Takes Dig At Man City Ban By Calling Man United As 2017-18 Champions

Man City FFP: Liverpool could be handed Premier League title after Man City ban

Brendan Rodgers Liverpool infamously let the title slip from their grasp in the 2013/14 season against Jose Mourinho’s Chelsea at Stamford Bridge, while a 3-3 draw against Crystal Palace sealed the title Manchester City’s favour. However, with a bleak chance of Liverpool being crowned as Premier League champions of the 2013/14 season, here’s a look at the Liverpool players who might add a Premier League title to their CV due to Man City ban.

Also Read: Man City To Use Rivals' Financial Activities In Defence Against FFP Breach: Reports

Man City FFP: Man City ban could lead to these players winning the Premier League title

  • Goalkeeper: Simon Mignolet
  • Defenders: Martin Skrtel, Glen Johnson, Jon Flanagan, Daniel Agger, Mamadou Sakho, Kolo Toure, Aly Cissokho, Jose Enrique.
  • Midfielders: Jordan Henderson, Steven Gerrard, Philippe Coutinho, Raheem Sterling, Lucas, Joe Allen, Victor Moses.
  • Forwards: Luis Suarez, Daniel Sturridge, Iago Aspas.

Also Read: Man City Ban: Which Players Did Manchester City Sign During FFP Breach Period?

First Published:
By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water