US OPEN 2018| Roger Federer's Incredible Shot Leaves Nick Kyrgios Stunned

Tennis News

Roger Federer's moment of brilliance in the third round clash against Nick Kyrgios earned him a standing ovation from a packed stadium in New York. 

Written By Dylan Dsouza | Mumbai | Updated On:
Getty Images

Roger Federer's third-round clash against Nick Kyrgios at the US Open did not disappoint the spectators as it had all the elements for an exciting game of tennis. Although in recent times the encounters in between the duo have gone right down to the wire, however, this time was different as the Swiss ace dismantled the Australian, and did so with little challenge from Kyrgios.

The Swiss international, who is in the quest of securing his sixth US Open crown, progressed to the fourth round after outclassing Nick Kyrgios 6-4, 6-1, 7-5 in straight sets. Roger Federer survived the only scare from his opponent in the first set where the game was locked at 3-3. Though, Federer showed nerves of the steel as he went on to wrap things up in a clash that lasted 1 hour and 44 minutes. 

The highlight of the game came in the third set when Kyrgios was just a point away from going 4-3 in the third set before Roger Federer produced a moment of genius. The Australian played a dropped shot which the Swiss ace chased down by sending the ball around the nets to earn a standing ovation from a packed crowd in New York. 

According to the rules of tennis, for a shot to count, a player can hit the ball over or around the net, as long as it lands in the opponent's court. “Almost unreal,” said Kyrgios, who looked stunned as he admired the piece of racket wizardry from the 20-time grand slam champion.

While there has been a lot of action going on court in men's tennis, controversy struck the women's tennis on Tuesday. World No.31 Alize Cornet, for a brief moment, removed her t-shirt, before putting it back on during her first round match against Sweden's Johanna Larsson. The Frenchwomen had worn her t-shirt wrongly following a break. Upon realizing, she corrected her mistake, during which for a few seconds, her sports bra was exposed. 

READ: Alize Cornet Reprimanded For Changing Shirt On-court; Authorities Offer Apology After Backlash

Her act did not go down well with the match official, who charged the player with a code violation. Following the backlash received after this incident, the US Open have come out with an apology to the player. A statement released by them read, "All players can change their shirts when sitting in the player chair. This is not considered a Code Violation.


Get your daily fix of sports news and headlines only on Republic World. Stay updated with latest cricket news & football news from across the globe. Download the Republic TV app or the visit the website to watch Live TV & get today’s sports news from the world of sports.

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water