Updated June 11th, 2024 at 09:43 IST

Bangladesh fall prey to major ICC loophole as SA defeat them, what's the dead ball rule controversy?

The dead-ball dispute has arose after Bangladesh were denied four runs and they went on to lose by four runs as well. A controversy erupted after BAN's loss.

Mahmudullah Riyad reacts as he walks off the field after losing his wicket during the ICC Men's T20 World Cup cricket match between Bangladesh and South Africa at the Nassau County Cricket Stadium | Image: AP
Advertisement

Bangladesh failed to prevail against the Mighty Aiden Markram-led South Africa side as they held the Bengal Tigers off the win at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium. The Najmul Shanto-led side fell just four runs short of the required mark, which sparked up an intense debate over the rules. BAN's loss has put up a lot of attention towards the situation as the fans and analysts have been scratching their heads and believing that the team was robbed off the win. Amid the furore, let's take a look at what actually took place in the match and what the cricket rules state about the dead-ball ruling.

Also Read: 'Indian media obsess over Virat': Manjrekar ALL OUT on Kohli yet again! Hails Bumrah's mayhem vs PAK

Advertisement

SA vs BAN, T20 World Cup: Bangladesh tragically lost to South Africa by four runs which they missed out as the dead-ball controversy riles up  

The incident happened in the 17th over of Bangladesh's T20 World Cup group stage match against South Africa. Ottneil Naartman hit a nice ball that struck Mahmudullah's pads. The Bangladeshi batsman attempted to flick a full-length delivery, but it struck the front pads and sailed to the boundary for four runs. After a quick conversation with the leg umpire, the umpire awards an LBW call. The ball was clearly going wide and missing the stumps when Mahmudullah reviewed the call right away. Consequently, the umpire overturned his ruling. Nevertheless, Bangladesh did not receive the four runs and lost the match to SA by the same margin.

Advertisement

Unfortunately, it turns out that Bangladesh did not have things in their favour as the ball turned dead after the umpire signaled out despite the ball reaching the boundary.

Law 23.1(a)(iii)) of the ICC’s Rules of Cricket states that: “If following a review request, an original decision of ‘Out’ is changed to ‘Not Out’, then the ball is still deemed to have become dead when the original decision was made.”

Also Read: Harbhajan lambasts Kamran Akmal for his vile comments on Arshdeep, latter eventually apologizes

Advertisement

The decision by the umpire was wrong, and Bangladesh was denied the four runs which they scored after the ball reached the boundary ropes. The moment turned the tide as South Africa managed to pull off a win by four runs.  

Advertisement

Published June 11th, 2024 at 09:43 IST