Updated June 1st, 2024 at 01:18 IST

Pakistan's Strongest XI for T20 World Cup 2024: Here's how Babar Azam's team could look

Pakistan finished runners-up in the previous edition of the T20 World Cup and reached the semi-final stage before that.

Pakistan squad for T20 World Cup | Image:X/ ICC

As the T20 World Cup 2024 approaches, cricket fans around the globe are eagerly anticipating the clash of the titans. Pakistan, known for its dynamic and unpredictable cricket, is gearing up to showcase its best. 

Under the leadership of Babar Azam, Pakistan's squad looks good, blending experience with youthful exuberance. Pakistan finished runners-up in the previous edition of the T20 World Cup and reached the semi-final stage before that. 


Pakistan is expected to put up a good show this year's World Cup as well but nothing can be said about the team when it comes to consistency. Pakistan's performance in the first few games will decide their fate in the competition. 

Pakistan's predicted strongest XI for T20 World Cup 2024

1. Babar Azam (Captain)

Leading from the front, Babar Azam is not just the captain but the backbone of Pakistan's batting lineup. Known for his elegant stroke play and consistency, Babar will be crucial at the top of the order, anchoring the innings and providing stability.


2. Mohammad Rizwan 

Opening alongside Babar, Mohammad Rizwan has been in scintillating form in T20 cricket. His aggressive approach and ability to accelerate the innings make him an ideal partner for Babar. 


3. Fakhar Zaman

In the number three spot, Fakhar Zaman's aggressive batting style and experience in high-pressure matches will be vital. Fakhar has the ability to take the game away from the opposition within a few overs, making him a key player in the middle order.


4. Saim Ayub

A rising star in Pakistan cricket, Saim Ayub brings youthful energy and fearlessness to the lineup. His recent performances have shown that he can handle pressure situations, making him an exciting prospect for the World Cup.


5. Iftikhar Ahmed

Iftikhar Ahmed provides the much-needed balance to the side with his all-round capabilities. Known for his power-hitting, he can accelerate the scoring in the death overs. His part-time off-spin also offers a useful bowling option for Babar.


6. Azam Khan (Wicketkeeper)

Azam Khan, with his robust build and aggressive batting style, is a perfect fit for the lower middle order. Known for his big hitting, he can change the course of the game in a few overs. Additionally, he is expected to keep as well.


7. Imad Wasim

Imad Wasim's all-round abilities make him indispensable. As a left-arm spinner, he provides control and can bowl crucial overs in the powerplay. With the bat, he is capable of finishing games with his clean hitting.


8. Shadab Khan

Shadab Khan is the linchpin of Pakistan's spin attack. His leg-spin bowling is complemented by his sharp fielding and handy lower-order batting. Shadab's experience and leadership qualities will be vital for Pakistan's campaign.


9. Shaheen Shah Afridi

Leading the pace attack, Shaheen Shah Afridi is known for his lethal bowling, particularly with the new ball. His ability to swing the ball at high pace and execute yorkers makes him a nightmare for any batsman.


10. Haris Rauf

Haris Rauf's express pace and ability to bowl accurate bouncers and yorkers make him an essential part of the bowling lineup. His performances in various T20 leagues around the world have honed his skills for the international stage.


11. Mohammad Amir

Mohammad Amir's experience and skill in T20 cricket cannot be overstated. His ability to bowl with precision and control under pressure will be crucial for Pakistan's success. Amir's knack for taking early wickets can set the tone for the bowling attack.


Pakistan's squad for T20 World Cup 2024

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Abrar Ahmed, Azam Khan, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Khan


Published June 1st, 2024 at 01:18 IST