Delhi Elections: Urmila Matondkar, Others Congratulate Arvind Kejriwal For 'sweeping' Win

Delhi Assembly Elections

As the results for the Delhi elections were announced, Urmila Matondkar, Swara Bhasker and other stars congratulated Arvind Kejriwal for his 'sweeping' win.

Written By Joel Kurian | Mumbai | Updated On:

The events occurred as expected with Arvind Kejrwal’s Aam Aadmi Party achieving a landslide victory in the Delhi Assembly elections on Tuesday. As predicted in most of the exit polls on the conclusion of polling on February 8, the party went on to win over 60 seats out of 70. There were wishes galore for the CM-designate and his party, with Prime Minister Narendra Modi leading the messages and numerous other politicians from various parties sending their good wishes. 

READ: Congress Collapse, 'Kejriwal Vs Who?', Delhi Tug-of-war And 2 More Reasons For AAP's Sweep

Even celebrities from the film industry congratulated Arvind Kejriwal and the Aam Aadmi Party. 

Here are the reactions 

Actor and Congress leader Urmila Matondkar termed the victory as ‘sweeping’ and against ‘huge odds.’ She expressed delight over ‘Kaam Ki Rajneeti’ (politics of work) winning. She added that it was also the victory of the people of Delhi who voted for development.  

READ: Rahul Gandhi Congratulates Arvind Kejriwal & AAP For Delhi Win, Silent On Congress No-show

An actor, who has fought for AAP before, Gul Panag hailed the ‘fantastic, clean campaign’, while highlighting how they made their work do the talking amid ‘grave provocation and polarisation.’ 

Saqib Saleem, while congratulating, quipped how he’d have both biryani and poha to celebrate the victory. Calling Delhi her ‘Jaan’, Gauahar Khan had a light-hearted take on the ‘landslide win’, saying how her mother always told her that ‘AAP is the best word.’ 

Even sportspersons like Vijender Singh and Jwala Gutta congratulated Kejriwal and his party. The boxer wrote one how should not mess with a ‘baniya’ from Haryana while congratulating Kejriwal. 


READ: Naveen Patnaik Wishes Kejriwal A Successful Tenure After AAP's Stunning 'hat-trick' Win

The Aam Aadmi Party had won 62 seats, while the Bharatiya Janata Party won 8 seats and Congress had fired a blank, at the time of publishing this story. 

READ: Delhi Elections: 'Fabulous Win,' RJD Chief Lalu Yadav Congratulates Arvind Kejriwal

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water