Updated January 8th, 2024 at 16:16 IST

Lok Sabha Elections 2024 LIVE: Maharashtra INDI Alliance Seat Sharing: Key Meeting Tomorrow

Catch all the live updates in politics ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections 2024.

Shweta Parande
INDI Alliance
इंडी गठबंधन | Image: PTI
4: 15 IST, January 8th 2024

An important meeting regarding the seat sharing of the INDIA alliance is scheduled for tomorrow in Maharashtra ahead of the 2024 elections. Leaders including Sanjay Raut and Vinayak Raut are expected to attend this pivotal gathering, raising expectations for crucial decisions that could shape the alliance's dynamics in Maharashtra.


3: 34 IST, January 8th 2024

Former Karnataka chief minister and BJP leader Basavaraj Bommai talked about the Ram Temple inauguration and the opinion of the Indian National Congress on it. 

“It is a climb down as far as Congress is concerned. They tried to oppose it, but now they know that the entire people are against it.”

He added that now, even Congress leader and Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka DK Shivakumar has said that he was an ardent devotee of Shri Ram. While another Congress leader and Minister of Transport of Karnataka Ramalinga Reddy said there will be a “Puja on January 22nd”. 

“It is a boomerang of their anti-Ram strategy. It's a setback for Congress,” said Bommai.

3: 25 IST, January 8th 2024

After the key meeting of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Karnataka today, former Karnataka chief minister and party leader Basavaraj Bommai talked about what went on in the meeting. He said, “We (have) strategised a plan to win all 28 seats of Lok Sabha and are seriously acting on it.”

3: 13 IST, January 8th 2024

AAP MP Narain Dass Gupta files his nomination for the forthcoming Rajya Sabha Elections 2024, to be held in July-August.

3: 05 IST, January 8th 2024

Swati Maliwal, former chairperson of Delhi Commission for Women (DCW) has filed her nomination papers for the Rajya Sabha Elections 2024 to be held in July-August.

3: 02 IST, January 8th 2024

“We are in talks with the NDA alliance, and an announcement regarding the seat-sharing will be made soon. Without any doubt, I can say that in the upcoming (Lok Sabha 2024) elections, we are going to win all 40 seats in Bihar,” said Chirag Paswan, National President, Lok Janshakti Party.

1: 02 IST, January 8th 2024

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leaders Atishi, Sandeep Pathak and Saurabh Bhardwaj have reached the residence of Mukul Wasnik, Convenor of the Congress’ five-member National Alliance Committee. The agenda for the meeting is to discuss seat-sharing in the INDI Alliance ahead of the Lok Sabha Elections 2024.

12: 34 IST, January 8th 2024

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) national convener Arvind Kejriwal declared his party's jailed MLA Chaitar Vasava as the candidate for the Lok Sabha Elections 2024 from Bharuch. Kejriwal challenged the BJP to “cage a lion” like Vasava, claiming that the MLA would contest the Bharuch Lok Sabha seat in absentia.

12: 17 IST, January 8th 2024

Congress candidate Rupinder Singh Koonar has won the seat in the Karanpur by-elections in Rajasthan's Sriganganagar district.

11: 31 IST, January 8th 2024

Congress candidate Rupinder Singh Koonar is leading by over 630 votes against, after three rounds of counting of votes in Karanpur assembly seat in Rajasthan's Sriganganagar district. According to the Chief Electoral Office, Koonar has so far bagged 14,946 votes whereas BJP candidate Surendra Pal Singh has got 14,316 votes after three rounds. Voting was held on January 5.

11: 25 IST, January 8th 2024

Former UP chief minister and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) National President Mayawati tweeted this morning about the Samajwadi Party. “SP is not only a very backward party but also a very anti-Dalit party. Although BSP, by forming an alliance with SP in the last Lok Sabha general elections, tried to change their anti-Dalit tactics, character and face. But after the elections were over, SP again came back to its anti-Dalit casteist agenda,” Mayawati posted on X. 

1. सपा अति-पिछड़ों के साथ-साथ जबरदस्त दलित-विरोधी पार्टी भी है, हालाँकि बीएसपी ने पिछले लोकसभा आमचुनाव में सपा से गठबन्धन करके इनके दलित-विरोधी चाल, चरित्र व चेहरे को थोड़ा बदलने का प्रयास किया। लेकिन चुनाव खत्म होने के बाद ही सपा पुनः अपने दलित-विरोधी जातिवादी एजेण्डे पर आ गई।

— Mayawati (@Mayawati) January 8, 2024


10: 47 IST, January 8th 2024

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be interacting with beneficiaries of the Viksit Bharat Sankalp Yatra on January 8 via video conferencing.

8: 57 IST, January 8th 2024

Former Karnataka chief minister BS Yediyurappa said that he was revisiting the good old days as a karsevak, when he offered the Ram mandir mantrakshate to various families in Bengaluru. “I have no qualms in stating that the country is doing exceedingly well under Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who is bringing back the glory of Rama Rajya,” he said. 

8: 50 IST, January 8th 2024

In the run-up to Lok Sabha Elections 2024, BJP leaders will meet at a private resort at 10 am today in Karnataka. BJP in-charge for Karnataka, Arun Singh, will chair the meeting in the presence of former chief minister BS Yediyurappa, parliamentary committee member. Two other former Karnataka CMs, Sadananda Gowda and Basavaraj Bommai will also be present at the meet to finalise candidates for the Lok Sabha polls.


8: 51 IST, January 8th 2024

Ahead of the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the Indian National Congress (INC) has appointed Parliament coordinators in Andhra Pradesh. Congress has appointed Parliament coordinator Kothuri Srinivas from Visakhapatnam, Mushini Ramakrishna from Rajahmundry, Korivi Vinay Kumar from Machilipatnam, D. Murali Mohan Rao from Vijayawada and M. Rajeshwara Rao from Nellore constituency.

Your Voice. Now Direct.

Send us your views, we’ll publish them. This section is moderated.

Whatsapp logo