Last Updated:

Jharkhand Elections: Congress' List Of Candidates For 1st Phase Out

The Congress party released the first list of its candidates on Sunday, ahead of the Jharkhand assembly elections that are to be held in November-December.


The Congress party has released the first list of its candidates ahead of the Jharkhand assembly elections to be held in five phases between November 30 and December 20. The list comprises five candidates contesting in the first phase of the elections. The Election Commission (EC) announced the assembly polls date for Jharkhand on Nov 1. Addressing a press briefing, Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sunil Arora said that voting to 81-seats of Jharkhand Assembly will be held in five phases. 

Congress’ list of candidates 

The central election committee of Congress approved the candidates that will be contesting the first phase of Jharkhand assembly elections. The General Secretary in-charge of the CEC, Mukul Wasnik, in a press release revealed the names of the candidates. Below are the candidates that will be contesting in the first phase. 

Read: JMM, Congress announce seat sharing in Jharkhand; RJD miffed

Phases of Jharkhand assembly elections 

The first phase will begin on November 30 and the counting will take place on December 23. Highlighting that as many as 19 districts are Maoist-hit, CEC Sunil Arora emphasized that five phases will ensure security in the voting process and said that MCC will be implemented after press meet. The tenure of the Jharkhand Legislative Assembly ending on December 27, here's the schedule.  

  • Phase 1: November 30, 2019  
  • Phase 2: December 7, 2019 
  • Phase 3: December 12, 2019 
  • Phase 4: December 16, 2019  
  • Phase 5: December 20, 2019 
  • Date of counting: December 23, 2019 

Read: 2019 Lok Sabha Election Results for Dumka, Jharkhand: 'Shishya' Sunil Soren defeats 'Guruji' Shibu Soren as BJP thwarts JMM

Seat-sharing between Congress, JMM, and RJD 

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha, Congress, and Rashtriya Janata Dal will be contesting the Jharkhand assembly elections together. The alliance has decided that Former Jharkhand CM Hemant Soren will be their CM face. Also, Congress will be contesting on 31 seats in the state, whereas Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD will contest on seven seats. The largest chunk of the alliance share will be going to JMM as they will contest on 43 seats under the leadership of Hemant Soren. 

Read: Rift in Jharkhand Mahagathbandhan, Hemant Soren meets Lalu Prasad

Read: Jharkhand assembly polls: JD(U) to contest alone on 81 seats






First Published: