MS Dhoni has been praised for his more than often successful reviews. India missed the services of former captain MS Dhoni against Bangladesh in the first T20I more so because they got three DRS calls wrong in a single over, which made a massive difference to the outcome of the match. The over in question was the 10th one of the Bangladesh innings in their run chase of 149, which was bowled by spinner Yuzvendra Chahal. The batsman in question was Mushfiqur Rahim.
The wicketkeeper’s insight is crucial when teams decide whether or not to take their review. MS Dhoni is still considered the best Indian wicketkeeper for many reasons and one of the major ones is his accuracy with the DRS. Such was his success with it that people started referring to it as the 'Dhoni Review System'. Let's look at the top 5 DRS calls of his career so far -
During the Asia Cup 2018 Super Four game between India and Pakistan in Dubai in 2018, Yuzvendra Chahal trapped Pakistani opener Imam-ul-Haq LBW, yet the umpire didn't give the batsman out. Dhoni instantly insisted to the then captain Rohit Sharma for a review, to which Sharma readily agreed. The umpire reversed the decision since the ball was crashing into the stumps, giving India a crucial wicket in the crunch game.
England spinner Adil Rashid had dismissed Virat Kohli and Suresh Raina in the 31st over to peg India back. Soon, it was Moeen Ali's turn, who stunned Dhoni with a ripper of a ball in the following over for an LBW appeal to which the umpire agreed. However, Dhoni was quick to go for the DRS. Dhoni calculated quickly that the ball bounced high enough to miss the stumps by a huge margin, even though the other two parameters were spot on. As a result, the decision was overturned in Dhoni's favour.
India decided to bowl first in the first ODI against England in the 2017 series and England set India a massive 351 to win. Things could have been even worse if Dhoni had not reviewed when it came to a catch taken off a Hardik Pandya delivery against England captain Eoin Morgan. The moment the keeper called for a review, Indian captain Virat Kohli agreed to take it upstairs. The catch was proven to be clean, making Dhoni's judgement accurate once again.
In the second ODI against England in the same series in 2017, Yuvraj Singh was given out caught behind by the umpire. Everyone on the field, including Yuvraj, believed that he was out but Dhoni called for a review at the non-striker's end. It turns out that the ball bounced slightly on the ground before keeper Jos Buttler caught it, which had to make the third umpire reverse the decision in Yuvraj's favour. Yuvraj went on to score 150, while Dhoni shined as well with 134.
Chennai Super Kings (CSK) pacer Lungi Ngidi appealed for Kolkata Knight Riders' opener Chris Lynn's catch at slip during their IPL 2018 game. However, the umpire gave it not out as the ball had seemingly only brushed the pad before it went into Dhoni's glove. But Dhoni heard a faint nick as the bat had slightly touched the surface of the ball. Dhoni once again had a successful review for his team and Lynn had to walk back.