Updated May 1st, 2024 at 08:56 IST

IPL 2024 Points Table: Updated IPL Standings, Orange Cap and Purple Cap Holder after LSG vs MI

IPL: Match 48 of Tata IPL saw LSG thump MI at the Ekana Stadium. Here is the updated IPL 2024 points table, orange cap and purple cap races.

Reported by: Aryan Suraj Chadha
LSG beat MI | Image:BCCI

On Tuesday, the Lucknow Super Giants made an impressive climb to third place in the Indian Premier League rankings by securing a decisive victory against the Mumbai Indians with a four-wicket margin. This triumph not only elevated Lucknow's position but also surpassed the Chennai Super Kings in the points tally, despite Chennai still having a match in reserve. At present, the Rajasthan Royals maintain their lead at the summit of the league, while the Royal Challengers Bengaluru find themselves struggling at the bottom of the table.

Also Read: CSK vs PBKS: Dream11 tips, pitch, weather report, and more


IPL 2024 Points Table After LSG vs MI

Rajasthan Royals98116+0.694
Kolkata Knight Riders96312+1.096
Lucknow Super Giants106412+0.094
Chennai Super Kings95410+0.810
Sunrisers Hyderabad95410+0.075
Delhi Capitals115610-0.442
Gujarat Titans10468-1.113
Punjab Kings9366-0.187
Mumbai Indians10376-0.272
Royal Challengers Bengaluru10376-0.415

Also Read: Hardik Pandya will be a different player in World Cup: Gavaskar


IPL 2024: Orange Cap Race After LSG vs MI

Following his exclusion from India's T20 World Cup squad, Lucknow's captain KL Rahul wasted no time in making a statement on the field, surging into the top five run scorers of the IPL season. His resilient 28-run innings against Mumbai propelled him past Rishabh Pant into fourth place, accumulating a total of 406 runs from 10 innings. Meanwhile, Virat Kohli continues to dominate the Orange Cap leaderboard, showcasing his prowess with a commendable 70-run performance against the Gujarat Titans, thereby reaching the coveted 500-run milestone for the season. Completing the top five run scorers are Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, and Rishabh Pant.

No.PlayerMatchesInningsNot OutRunsHighest ScoreAverageBalls FacedStrike Rate100/504s/6s
1Virat Kohli10103500113*71.43339147.491/446/20
2Ruturaj Gaikwad99 447108*63.86299149.491/348/13
3Sai Sudharsan1010141884*46.44308135.710/243/9
4KL Rahul101004068240.60284142.950/337/15
5Rishabh Pant1111239888*44.22251158.560/331/24

IPL 2024: Purple Cap Race After LSG vs MI

After the Lucknow-Mumbai encounter, the top-five wicket-takers roster remained static. Jasprit Bumrah from the Mumbai Indians maintains his commanding position at the summit after featuring in 10 matches. Mustafizur Rahman and Matheesha Pathirana maintain their second and fourth spots, respectively, following Chennai's recent triumph over Sunrisers Hyderabad. T Natarajan of Sunrisers Hyderabad ascended to fifth place with an impressive showing against Chennai, while Harshal Patel of the Punjab Kings further cemented his third-place position with a wicket against the Kolkata Knight Riders in the previous encounter.

No.PlayerMatchesInningsOversRunsWicketsBBIAverageEconomyStrike Rate4w/5w
1Jasprit Bumrah101040.00256145/2118.286.4017.140/1
2Mustafizur Rahman8830.2296144/2921.149.7513.001/0
3Harshal Patel9932.0326143/1523.2810.1813.710/0
4Matheesha Pathirana6622.0169134/2813.007.6810.151/0
5T Natarajan7728.0252134/1919.389.0012.921/0









Published May 1st, 2024 at 08:56 IST