Updated December 5th, 2023 at 14:41 IST

Bellingham receives 2023 Golden Boy award, reveals iconic English player as his 'biggest influence'

Real Madrid midfielder Jude Bellingham has revealed the player he admires most and also named the potential contenders for the Golden Boy award.

Reported by: Prateek Arya
Jude Bellingham
Jude Bellingham | Image:AP

Jude Bellingham, an England and Real Madrid midfielder, has been named the 2023 Golden Boy winner, which goes to the best under-21 football player in Europe. This summer, the 20-year-old made a high-profile transfer from Bundesliga's Borussia Dortmund to Spanish powerhouse Real Madrid, and he has excelled since joining Los Blancos. In 17 appearances across all competitions, Bellingham has 15 goals and 4 assists.

3 things you need to know

  • Jude Bellingham is Real Madrid's big-money signing of the summer
  • Bellingham has made an instant impact by scoring 15 goals for the club till now
  • Bellingham plays for England at the international level

Also Read | Pulisic finds success in Milan


Real Madrid star Jude Bellingham reveals the player he admires most

Jude Bellingham received the Kopa Trophy, which is presented to the world's best under-21 player, at the 2023 Ballon d'Or event. This was his second solo honour in as many months.


After accepting the prize, Bellingham said that former Manchester United and England star Wayne Rooney was his biggest childhood inspiration. Bellingham joined Rooney (2004) and Raheem Sterling (2014) as the only other English players to receive the Golden Boy accolade.

“For me, I would probably say that Rooney was my biggest influence growing up. Being from England, the way he played, the way he fought. But there are so many other players I’ve taken bits from,” said Bellingham.


Also Read | Copa América semifinals in 14 U.S. cities

Jude Bellingham names potential contenders for the Golden Boy award

He continued by naming the three players who according to him could win the award in future. Bellingham won this year's prize ahead of competitors like Paris Saint-Germain's Warren Zaire-Emery, Chelsea's Levi Colwill, Brighton's Evan Ferguson, and Bayern Munich's Jamal Musiala.

“I will say three names. First of all, Arda Guler is a phenomenon, we see him training and we are delighted with him. Then my former teammate Jamie Bynoe-Gittens, from Borussia Dortmund. And finally, my brother Jobe,” Bellingham told Tuttosport.


Italian publication Tuttosport created the Golden Boy award in 2003, and 50 journalists cast ballots to choose the winner. Dutch midfielder Rafael van der Vaart was the first-ever recipient of the award, with the likes of Lionel Messi, Cesc Fabregas, Sergio Aguero, Kylian Mbappe and Erling Haaland amongst the previous winners.


Published December 5th, 2023 at 14:41 IST

Your Voice. Now Direct.

Send us your views, we’ll publish them. This section is moderated.

Whatsapp logo