Advertisement

Updated January 15th, 2021 at 18:03 IST

How to clear chat in Signal app: Delete sent messages from the recipient's phone

If you use Signal app, you can now delete messages not only from your device but also from the recipient's phone. How to clear chat in Signal app? Find out.

Reported by: Danish Ansari
How to clear chats in Signal app
| Image:self
Advertisement

Amidst outcry over recent controversial changes announced by WhatsApp, a number of users have been searching for popular alternatives. One of the platforms that have emerged as a top choice among users is the social media messaging app call "Signal". The app offers end-to-end encryption along with a range of other security features. If you are new to Signal, you might notice that the app comes with a number of useful features found on WhatsApp.

Also Read | WhatsApp Private Groups Leaked On Google Search Due To Misconfigurations

And while there's enough to explore, you might wonder if there is actually a way to delete chats in Signal. Luckily, the app allows you to not only delete the message on your phone but also from the devices of other users. This can be especially helpful when you accidentally send a text or media files to the wrong person. So, let us quickly take a look at how to clear chats in Signal app.

Also Read | How To Move WhatsApp Chats To Signal? A Detailed Step-by-step Guide

How to clear chats in Signal app?

Here are the steps you can use to clear chats in the Signal app:

Step 1: Launch the Signal app on your device.

Step 2: Open the chat that you want to delete.

Step 3: Long press on a message or multimedia file that you wish to delete.

You can also select multiple messages in a chat. To do so, click on 'bulleted list' icon on the toolbar. Now, you can select the additional messages that want to delete.

Step 4: Click on the 'delete' icon. The app will ask you if you want to delete the message for yourself or for everyone. Click on 'Delete for Me' or 'Delete for Everyone' to confirm. 

Also Read | What Is CloutHub App? How To Download CloutHub On Your IOS And Android Device?

You should note that you can only delete the message for all users if the message was sent within the last 3 hours.

If you are looking to clear all the messages on the Signal app, you can do so by heading over to your account profile. From here, click on the 'Storage' option, and then tap 'Clear message history'. Click on 'Delete' to confirm.

Also Read | What Is The BiP App? Who Is The Developer Behind The New Messaging Platform?

Image credits: Google Play Store

Advertisement

Published January 15th, 2021 at 18:03 IST

Your Voice. Now Direct.

Send us your views, we’ll publish them. This section is moderated.

Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Advertisement
Whatsapp logo