Updated March 23rd, 2020 at 19:54 IST

EU to start membership talks with Albania, North Macedonia

The EU is set to begin talks with Albania and North Macedonia about membership of the European Union after all current members agreed to their inclusion.

Shubham Bose
EU: Considering the membership of Albania and North Macedonia
| Image:self

The European Union is set to begin talks with Albania and North Macedonia about membership of the European Union. According to reports, there was a unanimous decision by the union’s 27 members regarding the memberships. The vote took place on March 23 and it is expected that the details will be finalized this week.

Last bastions of opposition no more

France and Netherlands have repeatedly voiced objections to the membership of the two Western Balkan nations giving their track records regarding democracy and fighting corruption. As per reports, the members were also fearful of allowing new members to join the union during a time when Brexit threatened the bloc’s cohesion.

France and Netherlands objections to Albania and North Macedonia joining EU as member states have reduced in recent weeks, and even though Europe has become the new epicentre of the deadly coronavirus the call for Albania and North Macedonia to become members of the European Union. Greece was the last nation to show opposition to Albania’s inclusion into the bloc. The decision has to be unanimous. But as pre-reports Greece agreed to the inclusion after the latest draft included stronger language on protecting national minorities in Albania.

Read: Noida: Europe-returned Man Tests Positive For COVID-19, Total 5 Cases; Over 1,600 Under Surveillance

Read: Brazil Bans Entry Of Europeans, Asians To Contain Coronavirus Outbreak

Albania which is officially known as the Republic of Albania is a country in Southeast Europe and is located on the Adriatic and Ionian Seas which is within the Mediterranean Sea. Albania shares land borders with Montenegro to the northwest, Kosovo to the northeast, North Macedonia in the East and Greece in the south. Albania is a member of multiple international organizations like the United Nations, World Bank, NATO and etc.

North Macedonia which is officially known as the Republic of North Macedonia is a country in the Balkan Peninsula in South-East Europe. It gained its independence in 1991 and is one of the successor states of Yugoslavia. North Macedonia is a landlocked country.

Read: Coronavirus: Europe Orders 30-day Entry Ban, Germany To Impose Forthwith Says, Merkel

Read: WHO Calls For 'boldest Actions' In All European Countries To Battle Coronavirus


Published March 23rd, 2020 at 19:54 IST

Your Voice. Now Direct.

Send us your views, we’ll publish them. This section is moderated.

Whatsapp logo