BJP's Nadda Concedes Delhi To AAP & Kejriwal: 'Will Play Role Of Constructive Opposition'

Delhi Assembly Elections

Accepting party's defeat, BJP President JP Nadda has said that the party respects the verdict of the people. As per latest EC trends, BJP is winning 7 seats.

Written By Jay Pandya | Mumbai | Updated On:

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) has repeated the feat it achieved in 2015 in Delhi Assembly Elections and seems like it is going to win over 60 seats in the 70 member Assembly as counting of votes will end soon. The BJP, which looked like getting 20+ seats as per the early trends has been reduced to single-digit. Accepting the party's defeat, new BJP President JP Nadda has said that the party respects the verdict of the people.

'All the workers worked tirelessly in this election'

Taking to Twitter, Nadda said, "The BJP respects the mandate given by the people of Delhi. All the workers worked tirelessly in this election and have been engaged in elections day and night. Heartfelt greetings and thanks to all the workers."

Nadda, in another tweet, said, "Accepting this mandate, the BJP will play the role of constructive opposition and will prominently raise every issue related to the development of the state. With the belief that the Aam Aadmi Party government will develop Delhi, I congratulate Arvind Kejriwal and his party."

READ | Arvind Kejriwal and Prashant Kishor embrace the win as AAP is set to return in Delhi

READ | 'We were aware': Kamal Nath brushes off Congress' Delhi humiliation, gloats over BJP loss

BJP ally and JDU chief Nitish Kumar when asked for a reaction to the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP)'s mega victory in the Delhi election, only said three words and walked off, hands folded over his head -- "Janata Maalik hai (the voters are king)". He was approached by reporters after a function in memory of BJP icon Deen Dayal Upadhyaya, where he shared the stage with his deputy, the BJP's Sushil Kumar Modi.

Delhi election 2020 was held on Saturday, with 62.59% of the city's voters coming out to exercise their democratic right. The voter turnout in the previous assembly election in 2015 stood at 67.5%.

READ | 'Need to work for coming 4 years': Cong's Singhvi pulls no punches, saves one for BJP

READ | Delhi Election results 2020 LIVE: AAP leads in 63 seats, Kejriwal says 'I love you Delhi'

First Published:
By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water