Delhi Election: MVA Congratulates Kejriwal As AAP Nears Victory, Hails 'good Governance'

Delhi Assembly Elections

As the AAP nears the majority leading to its victory once again, Maharashtra's Maha Vikas Aghadi congratulated Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal for the win.

Written By Manjiri Chitre | Mumbai | Updated On:

As the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) sweeps the majority leading to a victory once again, Maharashtra's Maha Vikas Aghadi congratulated Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal for the win. Shiv Sena's Aaditya Thackeray and Nationalist Congress Party leader (NCP) Supriya Sule and Nawab Malik took to Twitter and gave AAP their best wishes.

According to the Election Commission of India (ECI) trend at 3:45 PM, AAP is leading by 58 seats and has won five seats. While the BJP has bagged only seven seats and has won none yet out of the total 70-seat Assembly in the national capital. Further, AAP convener and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal was leading in the New Delhi constituency with 36,307 votes, keeping BJP's Sunil Kumar Yadav behind 17,927 votes.

Aaditya Thackeray's tweet

Read: BJP neta brandishes party's increased vote-share, window-dresses Delhi humbling

Supriya Sule's tweet

NCP's Supriya Sule in a series of tweets congratulated Arvind Kejriwal and the AAP for their win in the national capital. According to her, "Good Governance" and "Development" have won again. 


Read: Aaditya Thackeray reacts to Wardha incident, calls for 'mindset change' from school-level

Nawab Malik's Tweet

NCP's Nawab Malik took to Twitter and wrote, "Best wishes to Arvind Kejriwal and Aam Admi Party for their victory. We hope that this term will bring progress and development."

Read: Delhi Elections: Yechury congratulates Kejriwal for giving a 'befitting reply' to BJP

Delhi Assembly elections

The Delhi Assembly polls have witnessed an intense campaign by the three contending parties - Congress, BJP and AAP with 672 candidates in the fray. Amid the controversy over the delay in the vote count, the Election Commission on Sunday evening declared the voter turnout to be 62.59 per cent in the national capital.

In the previous elections, the AAP had won an astounding 67 seats in the first big jolt to the BJP after Narendra Modi's sensational triumph in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. BJP had managed to win just three seats. Kiran Bedi, a former AAP leader among other achievements, was the BJP's CM candidate in the ill-fated election.

Read: Delhi Election: 'Issues lost, freebies won,' Anil Vij insists as AAP heads for big win

First Published:
By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water