Congress' Milind Deora Wishes Kejriwal, Says 'bijli, Paani Sadak' Have Won

Delhi Assembly Elections

As poll trends show a strong victory for the AAP, Congress' Milind Deora tweeted wishes congratulating the Delhi CM & AAP chief Arvind Kejriwal for the victory.

Written By Ananya Varma | Mumbai | Updated On:

As Delhi poll trends show a strong victory for the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) in the recently held Delhi Assembly Elections, Congress' Milind Deora tweeted wishes congratulating the Delhi CM. In his post, Deora congratulated AAP Chief Arvind Kejriwal stating that this time the winner was 'bijli, sadak, paani' (electricity, roads, water) signifying the claims that Kejriwal made regarding the 'development' that he has done for the city. 

Read: Congress accepts early defeat in Delhi as it suffers 2015 humiliation yet again

Read: Delhi Elections: Yechury congratulates Kejriwal for giving a 'befitting reply' to BJP

Congress 'accepts' mandate 

On the other hand, Milind Deora's Congress failed to win even a single seat in the Delhi elections this year. Soon after the trends released, in a press conference, Congress spokesperson, Randeep Surjewala accepted the mandate and congratulated the Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party which is currently leading in 62 seats as of now. Surjewala stated that the Congress is ready to accept the role of Opposition and that the party needs to refurbish itself entirely from ground level. 

Read: Arvind Kejriwal and Prashant Kishor embrace the win as AAP is set to return in Delhi

Delhi Elections 

EC trends maintain at AAP leading in 63 seats, BJP in 7 seats after 12 rounds of counting. Poll trends state AAP has won 19 seats, leading in 39 seats. The counting procedure for the Delhi Assembly Elections 2020 began at 8 am on Tuesday. The election was held on February 8 in the national capital. On Sunday, Delhi's Chief Electoral Officer (CEO) Ranbir Singh stated that 21 centres were set up in the city for the counting of votes. The term of the current 70-seat Assembly, where AAP holds an absolute majority, will expire on February 22.

Read: BJP's Parvesh Verma who called Kejriwal "terrorist" accepts defeat, says 'will work hard'

Read: Prashant Kishor breaks silence with AAP firmly leading in Delhi, rubs salt in BJP wounds

First Published:
By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water