Last Updated:

Kerala State Film Awards 2020: Suraj Venjaramoodu, Kani Kusruthi, Lijo Jose Bag Top Awards

Kerala State Film Awards 2020 was announced by the Minister for Culture, AK Balan. The awards will be distributed in the last week of December. See full list:

Kerala State Film Awards 2020

The Kerala State Film Awards for the year 2019-2020 were announced by Minister of Cultural Affairs A K Balan at a press conference on Tuesday, October 13, 2020. Balan before announcing the winners said that the government had announced the jury members on 18 March this year. However, the screening couldn’t be held as scheduled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Further, he also revealed that the awards will be distributed by December.

ALSO READ: Pooja Hegde Celebrates 2 Years Of 'Aravinda Sametha' With Throwback Video

Here is the full winner's list of the 50th Kerala State Film Awards: 

  • Best Actor - Suraj Vejaramood (Vikrithi, Android Kunjappan)
  • Best Actress – Kani Kusruthi (Biriyani)
  • Best Film – Vasanthi
  • Second Best Film – Kenchira
  • Best Director - Lijo Jose Pellisery (Jallikattu)
  • Best Debut Director – Ratheesh Poduval (Andriod Kunjappan)
  • Best Character Actor - Fahadh Faasil (Kumbalangi Nights)
  • Best Character Actress – Swasika (Vasanthi)
  • Best Screenplay original – Rahman Brothers (Vasanthi)
  • Best adapted screenplay - PS Rafeeque (Thottapan)
  • Best Film with Popular Appeal and Aesthetic Value - Kumbalangi Nights
  • Best Music Director – Sushin Shyam (Kumbalangi Nights)
  • Music Director for BGM – Ajmal Hassbulla (Vrithakrithiyulla Chathuram)

ALSO READ: Armaan Jain’s Home Has A Very Comfortable Vibe; Check Out Stunning Pictures


A post shared by Najim Arshad (@najimarshad) on

  • Best Singer (Male) – Najeem Arshad (Kettiyolaan Ente Malakha)
  • Best Singer (Female) – Madhushree Narayanan (Kolambi)
  • Best Cinematography – Prathap V Nair (Kenchira)
  • Best Editor- Kiran Das (Ishq)
  • Best Sound Mixing – Kannan Ganapathy (Jallikattu)
  • Best Sound Design – Shrisankar Gopinath, Vishnu Govind (Unda, Ishq)
  • Best sync sound – Harikumar Madhavan Nair (Nani)
  • Best Child Artist (Male) – Vasudev Sajeesh Marar (Sullu, Kallanottam)
  • Best Child Artist (Female) – Catherine Biji (Nani)
  • Best Children's Movie – Nani
  • Best Choreography - Brinda, Prasanna Sujith (Marakkar)
  • Best Male Dubbing Artist – Vineeth (Lucifer, Marakkar)
  • Best Female Dubbing Artist - Shruthi Ramachandran (Kamala)
  • Best Make-up - Ranjith Ambady (Helen)
  • Best Costume Designer – Ashokan Alapuzha (Kenchira)
  • Best Art director – Jyothish Sankar (Kumbalangi Nights, Android Kunjappan)

Special Jury Award


A post shared by Nivin Pauly (@nivinpaulyactor) on

  • Acting: Nivin Pauly (Moothon), Anna Ben (Helen), Priyamvadha Krishna (Thottapan)
  • Music: V Dakshinamoorthy
  • Film: Marakkar: Arabikadalinte Simham

The Jury

The jury for the 50th Kerala State Film Awards was led by noted cinematographer and director Madhu Ambattu. Apart from him, filmmakers Salim Ahmed and Abrid Shine, cinematographer Vipin Mohan, editor L Bhoominathan, sound engineer S Radhakrishnan, playback singer Lathika, actress Jomol, writer Benyamin and Chalachithra Academy member secretary C Ajoy were also the jury members of Kerala State Film Awards 2020.

ALSO READ: 'Ginny Weds Sunny' Shooting Location: Where Was The Puneet Khanna-directorial Shot?

ALSO READ: 'Shaapit' Cast: A List Of Actors And Characters They Play



Get the latest entertainment news from India & around the world. Now follow your favourite television celebs and telly updates. Republic World is your one-stop destination for trending Bollywood news. Tune in today to stay updated with all the latest news and headlines from the world of entertainment.

First Published: