Delhi: Shots Fired At AAP MLA Naresh Yadav's Convoy Following His Win, One Killed

General News

An AAP volunteer was killed and another injured after unidentified miscreants fired shots at party MLA from Mehrauli constituency Naresh Yadav’s convoy.

Written By Shubham Bose | Mumbai | Updated On:

Hours after the landslide victory in Delhi Assembly elections, unidentified miscreants fired shots at AAP MLA from Mehrauli, Naresh Yadav's convoy on Tuesday night. An AAP volunteer was killed and another injured in the incident. Yadav was returning from a temple following his win in the Delhi election on Tuesday when his convoy was attacked, tweeted AAP. The deceased volunteer has been identified as Ashok Mann.

Four rounds were fired

According to MLA Naresh Yadav, around four rounds were fired at the vehicle he was in. Speaking to ANI, Yadav said, "The incident is really unfortunate. I don't know the reason behind the attack but it happened all of a sudden. Around 4 rounds were fired. The vehicle I was in was attacked. I am sure if Police inquires properly they will be able to identify the assailant."

Sanjay Singh questions law and order situation in Delhi

Following the attack, AAP MLA Sanjay Singh questioned the law and order situation in the national capital. His tweet in Hindi roughly translates to: "Attack on Mehrauli MLA Naresh Yadav's convoy and Ashok Mann's murder is the rule of law in Delhi. Naresh Yadav was returning from a temple after paying obeisance."

Read: Delhi Elections: Sonam Kapoor Adds Point After Arvind Kejriwal Responds To PM Modi's Wish

Read: 'I Take Responsibility For Delhi Election Debacle': State Congress Chief Subhash Chopra

Law and order situation in the capital had been a much-discussed topic in the run-up to the Delhi elections following two incidents of shootings at Citizenship Amendment Act protest sites on January 30 and February 1.

AAP's landslide win

Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party swept the Delhi assembly polls with 62 seats, five less than in 2015, as per the final results announced by the Election Commission on Tuesday night. While BJP secured victory in the remaining eight constituencies in the 70-seat Delhi assembly, up from three in 2015, Congress could not open its account for the second time in Delhi. The victory of the AAP ensured a hat-trick for Arvind Kejriwal in the office of Delhi Chief Minister.

(Image Credit: ANI)

Read: Delhi Elections: Sri Sri Ravi Shankar Congratulates Kejriwal For 'landslide Victory'

Read: Congress Leader Mallikarjun Kharge Mocks BJP After Delhi Elections Loss

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water