IPL 2020: Ajinkya Rahane Upset With Rajasthan Royals For Sacking Him As Captain

Cricket News

Ahead of the IPL 2020, the Delhi Capitals look as strong as they have ever been. Under the captaincy of Shreyas Iyer, the team looks very formidable. Read more.

Written By Mrigank Pandey | Mumbai | Updated On:
IPL 2020

While the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 will begin in late March or early April, the excitement for the 13th edition of the tournament has already hit an all-time high. Even before the big deals made at the auction last Thursday, big trades were confirmed as Ajinkya Rahane and Ravichandran Ashwin made the move to their new franchise, Delhi Capitals. A lot was speculated about the reasons behind the same and Rahane has finally commented on the same. 

ALSO READ | CSK's Kishore cannot wait to play under 'Legend' MS Dhoni in IPL 2020

Ajinkya Rahane disappointed with Rajasthan Royals

When the 2019 IPL began, Ajinkya Rahane continued to be the skipper of the Rajasthan Royals even though Steve Smith was back from his ban. Smith had successfully led the Rising Pune Supergiant to the IPL finals in 2017. While the Royals struggled through most of 2019, the biggest news from the camp came mid-season when Rahane was relieved of his duties and Smith replaced him. Rahane referred to the incident as 'disappointing' and added that it was not a single player's contribution that made the team win or lose. He still insisted that he did not mind being held responsible for the team's failures. Rahane still maintained his gratitude for the opportunities that he got with the Royals.

ALSO READ | IPL 2020: Pat Cummins reveals girlfriend's suggestion to spend ₹15.5 cr paycheck on toys

Delhi Capitals look stronger than ever

Rahane is not the only former IPL captain who has joined the Delhi Capitals. Ex-Kings XI Punjab skipper Ravichandran Ashwin was also traded to the Capitals after lacklustre performances in the past two seasons. At the auctions, DC availed the services of superstars like Shimron Hetmyer and Marcus Stoinis. Here is the team's final lineup after the IPL Auctions:

  • Shreyas Iyer (captain)
  • Kagiso Rabada
  • Marcus Stoinis
  • Sandeep Lamichhane
  • Ishant Sharma
  • Ajinkya Rahane
  • Chris Woakes
  • Ravichandran Ashwin
  • Shikhar Dhawan
  • Shimron Hetmyer
  • Alex Carey
  • Jason Roy
  • Mohit Sharma
  • Prithvi Shaw
  • Lalith Yadav
  • Avesh Khan
  • Axar Patel
  • Tushar Deshpande
  • Rishabh Pant
  • Harshal Patel
  • Keemo Paul
  • Amit Mishra

ALSO READ | IPL 2020: 3 players who can replace injured pacer Deepak Chahar at CSK

ALSO READ | IPL 2020: RCB predicts buying Chris Morris for Rs. 10 crore pre-auction, video stuns fans

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water