David Warner Wins Allan Border Medal By Mere ONE Vote At Australian Cricket Awards

Swashbuckling left-handed opener David Warner has won the Allan Border Medal at the Australian Cricket Awards beating Ashes hero Steve Smith by just one vote.

Last Updated:
David Warner

Australian opener David Warner has won the Allan Border Medal at the Australian Cricket Awards ceremony, by just a mere 1 vote. The Allan Border Medal is considered the most prestigious individual prize was bagged last year by speedster Pat Cummins, who was a distant third in the 2019's prize winners list. Former Australia captain Steve Smith came second to Warner, while Cummins was third in the race this year.

Also Read: Sachin Tendulkar, Yuvraj Singh Donate 2011 WC Memorabilia For Auction During Bushfire Bash

Australian Cricket Awards: David Warner wins 2020 Allan Border Medal

David Warner has been excellent form since his return to national team colours post his ball-tampering ban. Warner had an outstanding World Cup, finishing as the second-highest run-getter of the tournament with 647 runs, one less than India’s Rohit Sharma. David Warner had a disappointing Ashes, ailing to reach a combined tally of 100 runs in the series, but redeemed himself in the home T20I series against Sri Lanka, scoring 217 runs in just three innings. He continued his form in the Pakistan series, slamming a mammoth 335* in the second Test against Pakistan, after scoring a brilliant 154 in the first Test. David Warner then upped his game against New Zealand, finishing as the second-highest run-getter, behind teammate Marnus Labuschagne, scoring 297 runs in 3 Tests. The Allan Border Medal winner scored an unbeaten hundred in Australia’s win in the first ODI against India at the Wankhede Stadium.

Also Read: Ricky Ponting Wins Twitterati Over By Using 1995 Kookaburra Bat During Bushfire Bash

Australian Cricket Awards: Marnus Labuschagne, Shaun Marsh honoured

While David Warner clinched the Allan Border Medal, Marnus Labuschagne claimed the Test Player of the Year award. Captain Aaron Finch clinched the ODI Player of the Year award, while Warner clinched the T20I Player of the Year award as well. Alyssa Healy won the Female ODI and T20I Player of the Year, while Ellyse Perry won the Belinda Clark Award, an award equivalent to the Allan Border Medal. Shaun Marsh and Molly Strano were both awarded the Domestic Player of the Year awards, while former fast bowler and Australian bowling coach Craig McDermott was inducted into the Hall of Fame. 

Also Read: Steve Smith, David Warner And Other Stars Dazzle At Australian Cricket Awards 2020

Here is the complete list of Australian Cricket Awards winners: 

  • Male One Day International Player of the Year: Aaron Finch
  • Female One Day International Player of the Year: Alyssa Healy
  • Hall of Fame Induction: Sharon Tredrea
  • Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the Year: Tayla Vlaeminck
  • Bradman Young Cricketer of the Year: Wes Agar
  • Male Test Player of the Year: Marnus Labuschagne
  • Female Domestic Player of the Year: Molly Strano
  • Male Domestic Player of the Year: Shaun Marsh
  • Hall of Fame Induction: Craig McDermott
  • Female International Twenty20 Player of the Year: Alyssa Healy
  • Male International Twenty20 Player of the Year: David Warner
  • Belinda Clark Award: Ellyse Perry
  • Allan Border Medal: David Warner

Also Read: Alyssa Healy: From Nearly Quitting In 2017 To Being Australia's ODI And T20 Player In 2019


Stay updated on the latest IPL 2020 news, IPL updates, IPL schedule, IPL 2020 points table, IPL 2020 matches and more. From live updates to breaking news, Republic World brings you all the live updates online so that you don't miss out on the IPL 2020 extravaganza.


First Published:

Team Points Table

Pos Team Net RR Points