ICC Schedule Reserve Day For 2021 Women's World Cup Knockout Games

Cricket News

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has scheduled reserve days for the semi-final and final fixtures of the 2021 Women's World Cup in New Zealand

Written By Sreehari Menon | Mumbai | Updated On:

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has released the schedule for the 2021 Women’s World Cup set to be played in New Zealand. The ICC received a lot of criticism over the past week for not scheduling a reserve day for the recently concluded Women’s T20 World Cup semi-final which was washed out. However, in a bid to rectify that mistake, ICC has now scheduled reserve days for all three knockout ties, the two semi-finals and the final.

Also Read: HM Amit Shah Applauds 'inspirational' India Women's Team For An 'exemplary' Campaign

ICC releases 2021 Women's World Cup schedule

The ICC released it’s 31-match schedule for the Women’s World Cup in New Zealand on Wednesday and the Tournament will be held at six venues. Wellington, Auckland, Hamilton, Tauranga, Dunedin and Christchurch will be the six host cities of the Women’s World Cup. The first semi-final will take place at Tauranga on March 3 while the second will be on March 4 at Hamilton. The final will be played under the lights at Hagley Oval on March 7.

Also Read: India Women Vs Australia Women: Alyssa Healy, Bowlers Power Australia To 5th T20 WC Title

New Zealand, England, South Africa, Australia Women qualify for ICC Women's World Cup

Only four teams have been confirmed for the 2021 ICC Women’s World Cup so far. Defending champions England, Women's T20 World Cup champions Australia Women, South Africa and hosts New Zealand. The remaining teams will be confirmed via the Women’s Championship and qualifying event in Sri Lanka in July.

Also Read: Virat Kohli 'proud' Of India Women's Team, Backs Them To Come Back Stronger

ICC add reserve days to World Cup schedule after India Women vs England Women SF washout

The addition of reserve days to the knockout ties is a crucial addition to ICC Women’s World Cup schedule, considering how the Women's T20 World Cup semi-final panned out. India Women qualified for the Women's T20 World Cup final after their semi-final against England Women was washed out. With no reserve day, India Women, courtesy of topping Group A, had progressed through to the final, where they were comprehensively beaten by eventual Women's T20 World Cup champions Australia Women.

Also Read: Sachin Tendulkar Posts Heartfelt Message For India Women Post T20 WC Final Loss

First Published:
By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water