BCCI Secretary Jay Shah Congratulates India For A Thrilling Series Win

Cricket News

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Jay Shah congratulated Team India for a thrilling series victory against New Zealand as they won 5-0

Written By Koushik Narayanan | Mumbai | Updated On:

Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Jay Shah congratulated Team India for a thrilling series victory against New Zealand as the visitors completed a 5-0 whitewash in the T20 series.  Jasprit Burmah spearheaded India's seven-run win against the Kiwis in the fifth and final T20 at the Bay Oval, helping India register a rare whitewash in a T20 series. KL Rahul was adjudged the Man of the Series while Jasprit Burmah was adjudged the Man of the Match for picking up three wickets alongside bowling a disciplined and tight spell. 

READ | VIRAL: MS Dhoni Gets Mobbed By Die-hard Fans During A Recent Adventure Trip

Jay Shah congratulates Team India

READ | Birds Of A Feather Flock Together Say Netizens Drawing Parallel With Pant & Samson

India register a 7-run win

Earlier in the evening, interim Indian captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and opted to bat first. Presented with another opportunity to make his mark in international cricket, Sanju Samson was promoted up the order at the expense of Sharma himself. However, Samson failed to trouble the scorers after being dismissed for just 2 by an overpitched Scott Kuggeleijn delivery. KL Rahul and Rohit Sharma batted with panache to form an 88-run stand from 60 deliveries. KL Rahul missed out on a well-deserved fifty by just 5 runs while captain Sharma top-scored with a well-crafted 60 from 41 balls. New Zealand bowlers disrupted India's acceleration in the slog overs as the visitors could only muster up a total of 163-3 on a flat Bay Oval track. A distraught New Zealand side got off to a horrendous start in their run-chase, losing 3 wickets for just 17 runs on the board. Playing in his 100th T20I, veteran batsman Ross Taylor anchored the innings with a 47-ball 53 before his departure in the 18th over. Apart from a single Shivam Dube over which accounted for 34 runs, the ‘Black Caps’ never got going and could only score 156-9 to hand India a 7-run win.

READ | Skippers Kane & Kohli's Moment On The Boundary Lines Defines The Spirit Of Cricket

ODI Series

After an action-packed T20I contest, the two teams will now collide in a three-match ODI series starting from February 5. The first game will be played at Seddon Park in Hamilton. The last time India tussled with New Zealand in a 50-overs game, the ‘Men in Blue’ were knocked out from the ICC Cricket World Cup in 2019.

READ | NZ Vs Ind 5th T20I: Rohit Sharma, Bowlers Power India To Rare 5-0 Whitewash In T20I Series

By 2030, 40% Indians will not have access to drinking water